How to protect your privacy on Snapchat?

snapchat protect privacy
snapchat protect privacy

Self-deleting photos after a few hours, disappearing messages, and fun filters are what make Snapchat so much fun. Fun, however, doesn't necessarily mean secure, and it's easy to get caught up in the instant thrill of it all without thinking twice about Snapchat's privacy settings.

You can never be too careful on the web, especially when it comes to sharing personal photos, videos, and other sensitive information.

Snapchat always wants to know where you are, what you're doing... and share it with all your contacts. And like all social networks, it collects this personal data and resells it to advertisers.

To limit the damage and protect your privacy a little on this application, you can change a few settings very simply. So, to help you in this process, Here we suggest you find a guide that will allow you to better secure your Snapchat account.

1) Disable Location

One of Snapchat's features allows you to locate on a map the presence of his friends. If you don't want us to locate you, launch the app then tap on your avatar in the top left. Press the toothed wheel then scroll the page and choose See my Location.

Change the settings to Ghost Mode and choose a duration (3 hours, 24 hours, or until turned off).

2) Repatriate the collected data

Wondering what Snapchat knows about you? You can ask the editor to deliver everything he has collected to you.

In your account settings, Press on My data. You may need to login to access the next page. Scroll down and tap Send request. You will receive by email a link to download the file.

3) Pay attention to screenshot notifications

When you send a photo to a friend and they take it a screenshot, you get a notification from Snapchat saying, "[Username] took a screenshot of the chat!".

This little notification is an important feedback that should influence how you choose to continue taking photos with this friend. Anyone who takes a screenshot of your snaps can post it anywhere online or show it to anyone they want.

While it's generally harmless to take screenshots and see notifications from extremely close friends and relatives you trust, it never hurts to be extra aware of what you're sending them. , just in case.

4) Disable Snapchat Targeted Ads

Snapchat uses some of the data it obtains from your use of the app to serve targeted ads to you and third-party advertisers. Here's how to disable these features:

  • First, go to your personal page by touching your avatar located at the top left of the screen.
  • Then go to the settings, at the top right of the page.
  • Once in the settings, scroll down the page to reach the second section entitled Additional options. Press on Manage.
  • There you will find the line Advertisements which must be selected. Choose Advertising preferences.
  • Finally, disable the three modes of advertising strategies that use targeting.

5) Move private photos saved in your Memories to My Eyes Only

The Snapchat Memories feature allows any user to save their own snaps, whether photos or short videos, into a virtual album hosted right on the mobile app.

Although the Memories feature was created to share old Snaps with your friends, we advise you to keep them to yourself. Thanks to the function My eyes only », you can move Snaps and Stories to a private album to which only you will have access by entering a secret code.
To do this:

  • Open Memories by swiping the camera screen upwards.
  • Long-press the Snap or Story you want to move to My eyes only
  • Tap the option Hide at the bottom of the screen.
  • Press Move.