How do I prevent certain followers from seeing my posts on Instagram?

hide instagram post

Dernière mise à jour: 30 mai 2024

As you probably already know, the content you post on your Instagram account is publicly visible to all users of the social network.

But what if you wish hide your Instagram posts from your followers or at least some of them?

In this article I will explain how to prevent certain followers from seeing my posts on Instagram. There are actually two good ways to do this. Follow the guide !

1# Create a list of close friends on Instagram

If the number of subscribers you want prevent seeing your Instagram posts is too high, you can simply create a list of close friends.

Then, when you post content, you can choose whether you want to share it with your list of close friends or with "everyman."

To create a close friends list on Instagram, follow these steps:

  • First, tap the user profile icon at the bottom right corner.
  • Next, tap the ☰ button located at the top right of the screen.
  • A side menu should appear on the right side of your screen. Select Close friends.
  • Create your list. To do this, enter a friend's username and tap Add next to their name. This will add this friend to your list " Close friends ».

Now when you share content, you have the option to share it publicly or choose your list of close friends so you avoid everyone look at your Instagram posts.

# 2 Block someone on Instagram

You can prevent individual followers from seeing your posts and find your account on Instagram search.

Instagram doesn't notify users when you block them. If the user follows you, your account remains on the user's follow list, but your content immediately becomes inaccessible.

How to block a user on Instagram?

To prevent an individual user from see your stories and find yourself in Instagram searches, follow these steps:

  • To get started, enter the account username in the search box.
  • Tap the settings icon, which has three horizontal dots on Android on iPhones.
  • Select " Block user"

To unblock the user at a later date, follow the same process but select "Unblock User" in the last step.

Limits of Instagram blocking

When you block individual users, they will still be able to view some of your content on Instagram.

For example, if you have common followers or follow some of the same people, a blocked user will still be able to see your likes and comments on other users' photos.

Blocked users can also still see your username on other users' likes and followers lists. Additionally, a blocked user's previous comments and likes on your photos don't disappear when you block the account; you have to delete them manually.

Finally, if your profile's privacy settings are otherwise set to public, all users can still see all of your photos and videos when visiting your profile on the web, whether or not you've blocked them in the app.