Last updated: January 1, 2023
If you regret that you message someone through Facebook Messenger, don't panic. You can always delete this message from both sides.
Did you send the message to the wrong person? Or maybe you realized that you had been too hard on this person? You are worried that this person will forward your message to one of their Facebook contacts ? Do not panic ! You can still fix all of this if you act fast.
Delete Facebook Messages for Everyone on iPhone
- On your iPhone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
- Then press Read more bottom right.
- Select Remove.
- Finally, press the option to withdraw.
If the message was deleted successfully, you should see a confirmation note that says " You have removed a message ».
Delete Facebook Messages for Everyone on Android
To use the " erase for everyone »On Android, you must:
- Keep pressing the message you want to remove.
- Click on Remove.
- Choose option Delete for All.
An informative message is then displayed: " You will remove this message for all other members of this chat. They will be able to see that you deleted a message, and still report it ", Messenger warns.
On the other hand, the recipient will also receive a note informing them that you deleted this message. Unfortunately, there is no way to hide this note. If you delete a message, the recipient will know you have done so.
You can always delete the note "You have removed a message" of your Messenger application. However, that doesn't mean that the note will disappear from the recipient's chat history. You can only delete the note from your chat history. Other members of the chat will still be able to see it.
10 minutes to delete your message on Messenger
In order to avoid certain abuses, the deleting a Messenger message for all is subject to certain conditions. The message should indeed be sent from less than 10 minutes so that it can be deleted. So you can only delete a message for a period of 10 minutes after it has been sent.
Once deleted, a text will replace the message to inform the interlocutors that it has been deleted.
Rule number one is not to send messages that you might regret sending later. Don't send messages that might get you in trouble. Keep in mind that even if you are able to use the Cancel Shipment option, the recipient may have already taken a screenshot of the'chat history.